Stepping Stones

As this weeks’ #WASO theme is ‘Stories’, I have asked Buzzbee for permission to share with you a narrative he recently described to me while walking Beedog to our local field and woods, about how the stream that separates the field from the woods made him think about how he struggles with going to school.

Rather than try and describe it to you in my own words and because I am now home educating. Buzzbee and I have spent the week making a model of his description and then with the help of his Lego people, his camera, and mummy’s laptop. He has created a story board to help tell his story.

The Weekly Adoption Shout Out
Stepping Stones by Buzzbee ©
"Hi I'm Lil Acorn and I like to pretend I am a cool kid"

“Hi I’m Lil Acorn. I like to pretend I am a cool kid but I’m not” “I have issues”

"I live at the far end of a little village called Acornville" "To get to school all my friends cross the bridge on the river Nutty"

“I live at the far end of a little village called Acornville”
“To get to school all my friends cross the bridge on the river Nutty”

"I can't get across the bridge most days and I have to cross the river using the rocks in the river"

“I can’t get across the bridge most days and I have to cross the river using the rocks in the river”

"The stones are all different shapes and sizes"  "Some days I can get to school easily and have a fun with my friends"

“The stones are all different shapes and sizes”
“Some days I can get to school easily and have a fun with my friends”

"But, some days the rocks are too sharp or slippery and I wobble" "Sometimes someone is near by and catches me before I fall and I have no more problems"

“But, some days the rocks are too sharp or slippery and I wobble”

"sometimes someone comes along just at the right time and catches me"

“Sometimes someone comes along just at the right time and catches me and the rest of my day is good”

"But sometimes no-one is there to catch me and I fall in"

“But sometimes no-one is there to catch me and I fall in”

"sometimes when I try to cross the river and the water is fast and really bubbly" "On these days I fall in and I am so scared"

“sometimes when I try to cross the river and the water is fast and really bubbly”
“On these days I fall in and I am so scared because I can’t get out on my own”

"People used try to help me but I say and do things I don't mean because I am too scared"  "Very soon they stopped trying to help me and I had to wait for my mummy to come pull me back in"

“People used try to help me but I say and do things I don’t mean because I am too scared”
“Very soon they stopped trying to help me and I had to wait for my mummy to come pull me back in”

"One day I hope that I will be able to cross the bridge with my friends and go to school with my friends and be happy" "Everyday I have to try hard and often I don't quite get there but one day I hope I will"

“One day I hope that I will be able to cross the bridge with my friends and go to school with my friends and be happy”
“Everyday I have to try hard and often I don’t quite get there but one day I hope I will”

14 thoughts on “Stepping Stones

    • Sending you a virtual box of kleenex.
      True to form, when Buzz first described it to me, I wasn’t prepared for it and had to walk a few steps behind him for a few minutes in order to not let him see the tears that were rolling down my cheeks.
      I am so proud of him for being brave enough to let me share it on here

    • Thank you. He has always had a creative mind and the years of PLACE with waxy has obviously rubbed off a little on to Buzz. For a child who finds admitting weakness hard, this was huge for him

  1. I love what you amd Buzzbee have done here. A very creative way of getting the lad to express his feelings. However I also needed to find the tissues after reading this. Glad to hear home educating is going ok.

  2. Yes please I could have done with the “tears alert” too. What a powerful and moving post and what a brilliant way to help him express his feelings. Seems to me you are doing some amazing work with him at home, you should both feel very proud.

    Thank you for Sharing on The Weekly Adoption Shout Out. x

  3. What a great accomplishment to complete a project like this and wonderfully creative way to express how you feel. Thanks for sharing Buzzbee, you are obviously clever and creative!

    • Thank you. Buzzbee is quite confused by why people think he has done well. He has spent so much time thinking he is “rubbish” at everything. It is hard for him to acknowledge his achievements. We are proud of him.

  4. I love this post! When I’ve chatted to you I really admired your obvious parenting skills and this is a great example of creative therapeutic work…well done you guys. Thanks for sharing it xxx

  5. I need some of those tissues too. Well done to Buzzbee for expressing himself and to you too for enabling him to share this.

    Thanks also for linking up to #WASO x

    • Thank you. Virtual hankie winging your way. I have already said it but I am really proud of him. He is a switched on little man and now without the pressure of school he is very gradually becoming more confident at showing us what he can do.

Leave a Reply

