Sweet Tooth

This weeks’ #WASO theme is ‘Recipes – and why they are important to our family’.

I don’t have any special recipe that I turn to when the need arises – quite honestly with the range of food anxieties that go on in our house, I barely manage to find a day when we all are eating the same meal, let alone trying to cook something special.

Having said this, I have been thinking about this theme for a few days and one thing occurred to me – although our family haven’t shared any family secret recipes, there are a few members of my family who have ‘signature’ desserts or treats that they often make for special occasions or when then need takes their fancy, which on their own don’t seem significant but for the boys has embedded a sense of expectation and family tradition.

So who makes what?

Let me start with my late mother-in-law! For as long as I have been part of Bumble’s family, Granny Bee has always made her homemade Pavlova for family lunches or special visits. So it is no surprise that Bumble loves a nice Pavlova and ever since the boys moved in they have come to expect that when they visited she will have made one for after lunch.  Although sadly Bumble and the boys no longer have the chance to enjoy delicious treat made by her own hands, she did teach Bumble’s eldest nephew to make it, so I am sure he will keep that tradition alive for some time to come.

If I stick with Bumble’s family for a minute, Grandpa Bee often makes homemade fudge for his sons and grandsons. It doesn’t have to be a special occasion for my father-in-law to decide to make the fudge, but I can almost guarantee that if Bumble has gone up to visit his family, he will return with an ice-cream tub filled with fudge.  Bumble cannot get enough of his dad’s fudge just like the rest of the males in his family.

20140321_103147

Then there is my sister, who makes possibly the most heavenly cupcakes, along with novelty cakes for most family occasions.  The boys are certainly not alone in their adoration of their auntie’s cakes and know just exactly how to obtain a new batch of cakes from her – flattery gets them everywhere when it comes to my sister and her cakes.

WP_000666

And, that just leaves me!  I suppose I fit into two different boxes for this.

I love making truffles and family, friends and even social workers are only too happy to devour the entire contents in record time.  It is incredibly messy but the boys absolutely love helping me making them (although I have had to be very strict with them about “sampling the mix” when it comes to making the alcoholic truffles).  If we forget about how divine they taste, the aroma of these small, rich chocolate balls is pure heaven and has the power to lift even the lowest spirit.

P1080872P1080871

On a more motherly, domesticated level (Ok only joking, I am no Mary Berry), I do have my own little traditions or secret weapons that have an almost 100% success rate at times of need – and yes they are again sweet/sugar related (crikey, I will have you all believing that my boys diet consists purely of sugar and sweets).  Mum’s special pancakes are always a hit, especially if mummy puts in her secret ingredient. In the unlikely event that this doesn’t hit the spot, I can guarantee that the hot chocolate with lots of whipped cream will hit the spot.

Just reading this back myself is giving me a virtual toothache – I promise I do feed my boys real and healthy food.

So, although I do not have any amazing to share with you all. It has made me sit up and realise that there are special recipes used within our family that have created lasting traditions and memories.

As for the truffle recipes. Well here they are:

Kiddy-Friendly Truffles

Truffles need to be eaten within 5 days – if you have kids like mine, you will be lucky if they last the day.

To make about 10 truffles:

100g (4oz) chocolate (broken into small, even-size pieces)

25g (1oz) butter

50g (2oz) plain cake, crumbled into fine crumbs

4 tablespoons chocolate sugar strands (alternatively and our preferred option crated chocolate)

Small paper cases (optional)

1.       Put the chocolate pieces into a heatproof glass bowl and place over a pan of hot but not simmering water. When it starts to melt, stir gently until completely melted. Do not overheat.

2.       Remove from the heat and gently stir in the butter.

3.       Carefully lift the bowl out of the water.

4.       Sift the icing sugar through a sieve into the chocolate. Add the cake crumbs and stir until everything is mixed well.

5.       Leave the chocolate mixture to cool in the bowl. Then, put the chocolate sugar strands onto a plate.

6.       When the mixture is firm and thick, scoop up some with a teaspoon and put it into the chocolate strands.

7.       Using your fingers, roll the spoonful around until it is covered. Then, put it in a paper case if you wish.

8.       Put the truffles onto a plate. Put them in a fridge for 30 minutes. Keep them in an airtight container in the fridge.

Adult Only Truffles

Truffles need to be eaten within 12 days (again never managed to survive the day, even less if it is social workers eating them).

120g (4oz) chocolate (white, milk or plain) broken into small, even-size pieces (I used deluxe Belgium choc)

4 tablespoons butter, softened to room temperature

2 tablespoons double cream

½ teaspoon brandy, rum or liqueur of your choice

Grated chocolate to decorate (I always put the chocolate in the freezer before grating – it makes it so much easier to use)

1.       Put the chocolate pieces into a heatproof glass bowl and place over a pan of hot but not simmering water. When it starts to melt, stir gently until completely melted. Do not overheat.

2.       Remove from the heat and gently stir in the butter, then the cream and liqueur.

3.       Leave to cool, then cover with cling film and refrigerate for 2-2½ hours until set.

4.       Remove the mixture from the refrigerator. Using a teaspoon, scoop out small pieces of the mixture, then use your hands to roll them into balls.

5.       To decorate, roll the balls in grated chocolate. Transfer to an airtight container and refrigerate.

 

NB: I do not claim to own these recipes. They recipes I have found over the years that I have found have the best results for making truffles.

The Weekly Adoption Shout Out
4 thoughts on “Sweet Tooth

  1. I think I would enjoy one of your family get to others with all those lovely treats. Are your truffles easy to make? I’ve not done that with my boys and would love to have a go. I like it when a theme makes you realise things about your family that you hadn’t considered before. Thank you so much for taking part in #WASO. xx

    • Thank you. They children’s truffles are very easy. The alcoholic ones are a little more fiddly but still quite easy. I should have thought about adding it to the post (maybe I will type it up and add it in.

Leave a Reply

