Light Relief

I started to write an opening sentence for this post and realised that what I had written was beginning to sound like the beginning of a very bad joke with a really bad punch line – “What do you get if you cross a hormonal teenager with a fractured wrist, a hyper-aroused anxious 8 year old and a school filled with brainless professionals?”

I will leave you to guess the punch line, but suffice to say, this mummy is not on top form and trying to do something as simple as write this post is taking what little brainpower I have at the moment.

I am not going to bore you with the latest goings on with Waxy’s “delightful” school at the moment. They are not worth my tears and if I start writing it down here, that is exactly what will happen. Add to this the fact that I am sick and tired of feeling so terrible, I have decided this post is going to be light in more than one way.

Bumble has been away this weekend and, like many other times, I am aware that this usually is a flash point for the boys, and I was right. Bumble left 2 hours later than he had intended to, but eventually he managed to and, after a brief spell of bedtime silliness, my monkeys finally settled and went to sleep.

Not wanting a repeat of previous weekends lately, I decided that I would take the boys out for a trip to their favourite safari park and pray that the Monkeys (not my pair) leave my car in one piece – Ok I also had an ulterior motive of wanting to visit the parks’ seasonal special ‘Chinese Lantern’ event (I had intended to take my camera but that is a whole other story/gripe/rant).

The weather was absolutely perfect and the animals were taking full advantage of the gorgeous December sunshine. Result – happy boys (well most of the time) + happy mummy = a fun day for the best part of it had by us all.

The tricky time came once the sun had begun to set and the lanterns were lit. Over the years we have begun to pick up on the fact that Buzzbee struggles with the transition from light to dark and can become very ‘fizzy and dysregulated’ for a period of time, and he is a handful, unless he allows you to support him by using the skills we have found that help him relax quicker – to the untrained eye he just looks like a ‘naughty, hyperactive child’ who is not being parented properly, but for me, while I have become quite skilled at helping him regulate himself, seeing my little man in such distress is heartbreaking.

To add to Buzz’s distress, the evening was incredibly busy, unlike the daytime had been, and so he had the added stress of being pint-sized and in a busy crowd of strange faces as well as a stroppy teenage brother who was rapidly losing his patience with Buzz’s ‘fizzing’. Poor Buzzbee was quickly unravelling, verging on a full panicked state and none of the usual tricks were working, so I found myself in a potential lose, lose situation. On one hand I had one child who was very keen to see the lights and on the other I have one child who was about to flip into ‘fight or flight’ mode any second. If I left I would have an angry teen to deal with as well as a hyper 8 year old, but if we stayed Buzzbee could completely fall apart if I couldn’t find something to soothe him.

All I am going to say is “Thank heavens for my mobile phone!” It saved the day as well as the evening. Buzzbee often likes to take photos with my phone so in a last ditch attempt to prevent a nice day turning into a disaster, I suggested that he become my secret spy and take photos of the displays for me to “study” later for ‘evidence’ (N.B. I have no idea what a spy mission should sound like, but hey I tried and he liked it).

So for this weeks’ #WASO post, I leave you will some of evidence of his espionage.

animallaterncollagechineselanterncollage

2 thoughts on “Light Relief

    • Thank you, I wish I had thought of it earlier and saved him all the stress. He has always loved swiping my camera and taking it on our dog walks and often he takes beautiful pictures.

Leave a Reply

