“Oh, Christmas Tree…………..”

“…… how much learning can there be”?

Okay, I know I am being cheesy, but as Buzzbee and I are now 4 weeks into our Home Education adventure and still alive, I wanted to celebrate how hard he has been trying and add a little festive cheer at the same time.

For 18 months his school kept saying that he refused to learn and gave up even trying to teach him. When Bumble and I took the decision to remove Buzz from school they could not tell me what levels he was at.  They had allowed his fear of failure to cripple him emotionally and he left school believing that he was ‘stupid and unteachable’. I could go on about how my bright, determined and curious little boy had turned into a child who would fall apart the moment he made a mistake and how the thought of reading a book aloud sent him into a state of blind panic.

I am not going to sit here and write that it has been a breeze having to now not only play ‘mummy’ but also ‘teacher’ but I cannot fail to notice that he already appears calmer and more relaxed, and I am certainly reaping the rewards of having extra time to build on our attachment relationship (although this weekend both he and Beeswax are pushing every button they can)

But, this is about celebrating what he has achieved in a short time with a few of his proudest pieces of work – Christmas style.

learningtree tag2 tag1

Buzzbee wanted to create a ‘Learning Christmas Tree’ to list his triumphs (one tag for each day)

santaletter2 bauble xmas words

Handwriting is a huge anxiety for Buzz and usually he will only attempt writing if someone has written it out for him before but both of these were achieved with only assistance with spelling and WITHOUT meltdowns (resistance but no meltdown).

snowmanchart1

Buzz loved the idea of learning about bar charts by creating a graph of all of our names (okay so this was his second attempt using all our pseudo names) – Thank you Pinterest for the inspiration. He is now running away with the idea and creating a bar chart to find out which street in our village has the most Christmas lights.

But, of all the different ways of trying to help Buzz feel better about himself and realise that he is as clever as his peers, Buzz has discovered that he loves writing stories and acrostics.

SANTA CLAUS

SANTA CLAUS

How my snowman melted

How my snowman melted

I don’t know how long Buzz will continue with his renewed enthusiasm for some aspects of learning, or if I will find myself in a position where I don’t feel it is the best thing for our relationship, but for now I believe this is the best option for him and for as long as he needs it, I am going to continue supporting him.

This post has been written as part of this weeks ‘Adoption Weekly Shout Out’ #WASO

The Weekly Adoption Shout Out
4 thoughts on ““Oh, Christmas Tree…………..”

  1. I love all the great work he’s been doing – thanks to you and him for sharing it. Home education is something I’ve thought hard about and I’m not ready to do it yet, so am in awe of how you manage to have a teacher hat and a mummy hat. It just goes to show that school DO NOT always get it right, and your boy is doing such much better now.

    Thanks for linking up to #WASO.

    • Thank you. It was certainly something that I always said I would have to be mad to do anything like this but just seeing how much more relaxed and happy he is, it is worth it.

  2. Hi, I have just come across your blog. I homeschool my adopted son who needed medication, full time one to one and a support team at school. We are a year and a term in (no medication and no “support” ) and he is simply unrecognisably calm and successful. I know what a big decision it is but cannot recommend it highly enough. Good luck and I love your photos!

    • Thank you. I did originally worry that it would harm our relationship but it is amazing how quickly I have seen an improvement in his whole demeanor and rather than cause tension it is helping him feel more secure. I am finally seeing my little man and his personality returning and it is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

